Meerkats

MEERKATS

MEERKAT

Medical Emergencies: Evaluation, Response and Keeping Attention on Team Communication and Patient Safety

Medical Emergency SimulationFoundation 2CMT

Please click on any of the above three courses for more specific information.

MEERKATS is a set of educational programmes aimed at nursing shift leaders, junior and senior medical staff and HCA’s. It combines the essential elements of patient safety with good practice in communication and recognition and management of the acutely unwell patient.

All participants in simulation-based team training courses like above learn together, reflect together and discuss together in teams similar to the ones that deliver health care on the wards. Simulation courses include senior and junior doctors, nursing shift leaders, medical students and health care assistants working as part of the multi-dynamic team. Learners participate in the simulation exercises in their normal clinical role and work in realistic clinical teams communicating across a ward and two side rooms.

Simulation scenarios and content emphasis are based on audits of calls to the hospital at night teams with specific learning objectives aligned to the Trust’s priorities as  follows:

  • Recognising the deteriorating adult, treatment and escalation.

Involving participants from various backgrounds (medical, surgical, A&E,) and observing the interactions within the multidisciplinary team with a focus on TEAM SAFETY & RESILIENCE

PLEASE ENROLL SHIFT LEADERS & HCAs BY CONTACTING simulation.admin@stgeorges.nhs.uk

Please copy and paste the below table into your email software and populate ALL fields to reserve a booking. Without the relevant information we will not confirm your booking.

Date

Title

Full Name

Profession

Band

Ward

           
           
           
           

Please find the dates available below for 2021/2022

MEDICAL STAFF WILL BE ALLOCATED SESSIONS BY YOUR POST-GRAD CO-ORDINATOR IN EDUCATION & DEVELOPMENT

 

MEERKATS 1

  • Tuesday 5th October 2021
  • Friday 15th October 2021
  • Wednesday 17th November 2021
  • Wednesday 19th January 2022
  • Tuesday 25th January 2022
  • Tuesday 8th February 2022
  • Thursday 24th March 2022
  • Monday 28th March 2022
  • Friday 6th May 2022
  • Monday 16th May 2022
  • Wednesday 8th June 2022
  • Monday 20th June 2022

 

MEERKATS 2

  • Thursday 7th October 2021
  • Tuesday 30th November 2021
  • Friday 10th December 2021
  • Tuesday 18th January 2022
  • Thursday 3rd February 2022
  • Tuesday 15th March 2022
  • Friday 18th March 2022
  • Thursday 28th April 2022
  • Tuesday 10th May 2022
  • Monday 30th May 2022
  • Thursday 16th June 2022
  • Wednesday 29th June 2022

 

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑